When the Universe speaks, you should probably listen.

“Happiness is like a butterfly which, when pursued, is always beyond our grasp, but, if you will sit down quietly, may alight upon you.”- Nathaniel Hawthorne

I think the Universe is trying to tell me something.

I think that that something in question is perhaps my lack of focus. Mainly on myself, of all things. All my life I’ve always tried to take care of others around me before I took time out to take care of the things that I need. Now that I’m in school, I feel like I can work on fixing that again, and I will.

For some reason all this semester I’ve been a tad envious of the scads of happy couples that I’ve seen around me. I’m happy for them, but yes. I am a bit bitter. Only because I want my own boyfriend. This year though, I think that the gods of Academia are working every trick in their arsenal to keep my ass single. Now that I’ve come to terms with this over the past two months, I’m 100% okay with it because I’m a busy woman and I’m not in a position to be inviting someone else into my hectic, crazy as balls life right now. This fact has actually paid off for me too, because I’m making decent grades this semester, and it’s just more motivation for me to make even better grades from here. After all, my goal is to graduate in 2.5 years with at least a 3.5 GPA.

Now, normally I’m a great juggler of all of the things that life has to throw at me. But this year and if need be, farther into the future, I’m okay with being a single girl.   However, the hopeless romantic/semi-needy and affectionate side of me is going to be a bitch to keep tame but I’ve worked through it before, I can do it some more.

So, the moral of the story boys and girls is simply this: just because everyone around you is doing something, it does not mean that you need to conform and do the same thing they are. If your single, embrace the shit out of it while you can because there will come a time when you will no longer be and you will wish that you are again. Take care of yourself first and don’t become a sheep, and once you learn to love yourself then someone, the right one, will find you and will love you more than you can even imagine.

Leave a Reply

