I’m not a girl, not yet a woman.

I’ve been in the process of reading Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me (and other concerns) by Mindy Kaling in between studying for massive, mind numbing tests and writing some bad ass fake editorials for my Reporting for the Media classes fake paper and I’m finally done with it.

Tonight at work I started to read the last 70 pages, which happens to have the most ingenious title ever;  The Best Distraction in the World: Romance and Guys. As I read I realized that I am more of an adult than I previously thought I was. Why you ask? Well because the aforementioned part talked about men, as well as the term “hooking up” and how the fact that there is no cut and dry definition of the term is super irritating. Mindy also attacks one night stands with a vengeance that  I whole heartedly appreciated, because like her, I WILL not have a one night stand with someone. Mindy’s reasons for avoiding those mine fields and mine are pretty much the exact same thing which is pretty fucking awesome. I’m no  longer a weirdo!

While reading her book, I not only realized that I want to be like her as far as writing styles go (even though I’m kind of already there: see narcissistic title of this blog). I would love to write/hell I’d be happy to  just work for  an awesome television show with someone like Tina Fey. Kristin Wiig and Amy Poehler by my side to root me on, become my mentors and to be my best friends.

I also realized that I want to date a man, a stable, sturdy, independent and amazing man that even my mom will love.  But seeing as how I’m in college, and I live in a residence hall my pickings are slim. I’m not saying that I’m necessarily ready to date a man, because I’m probably not, but the things that guys do nowadays to get girls in their beds in downright nauseating. Maybe I’m a bit of a traditionalist, and I was probably reincarnated from the era where men actually wooed a girl into becoming his and kept on wooing her, but dammit I am a naive, stubborn feminist that believes in these things still and every woman deserves it!

“So I’m into men now, even though they can be frightening. I want a schedule-keeping, waking-up-early, wallet-carrying, non-Velcro-shoe-wearing man.”

― Mindy KalingIs Everyone Hanging Out Without Me 

End rant/book review/I’ve developed a new girl crush.

One thought on “I’m not a girl, not yet a woman.

Leave a Reply

