R-E-S-P-E-C-T, find out what it means to me.

Respect. That’s all that Aretha Franklin was asking for, just a little bit. That’s also all that I’m asking for.But will I get it in the next three months? Quite possibly not because I am surrounded by 18 to 20 year olds, and it  seems that things aren’t  always awesome unless I’m behind my desk at work, in classes, or in the newsroom. Which I must admit is sad as hell, but I’m making my own happiness, dammit! 

This past weekend I took the bull by the horns and moved out of my  now old room and in to a room where I only know one of the girls. To be fair my new roommate was blindsided by my rather abrupt move in over the weekend, and she didn’t get the chance to tell our RHD that she wanted to either, 1. buy out the side of the suite (which is a pretty penny), or 2. have one of her friend’s move in with her.  

The tale of my first night goes a little like this; I was out in the lobby with one of my new suite mates and some friend’s just telling stories and bonding and having a gay old time when my suite mate and I decided to call it a night and parted ways from the crowd. I walked in to my room and hear two voices chit chatting on my roommate’s side. I’m not one of those people that’s against my roommate having their boyfriend  over, because if I had one I’d either have him over a lot too, or go to their place to spend the night. Anyways, I was winding down and getting ready for bed and reading a book because she still had her light on so I took advantage and caught up on some reading for my classes until she was ready to turn her light off. I didn’t rush her or anything. I was basically a mouse. She came over to the light and turned it off and  I was cool with it, but within two minutes of her getting back in to bed with her boyfriend I immediately heard the sounds of lips smacking together. At first I was okay with this because my old roommate used to partake in the same activities too not that long ago. 

Later after I had kind  of drifted off to sleep I was startled awake because I was blessed/cursed with being a light sleeper and I heard the lip smacking again, this time it was a hell of a lot more persistent, and I was trying to sleep! I had six hours left until day break and I didn’t want to be that person that disturbed them and left the room if they were in the middle of something hot and heavy. Then again, now that I think of it, they were the ones doing something that would have made everything awkward if they had continued any farther then they did. Suffice to say, it was a rather long night for me. Especially since it is now kicking my ass, and I just want a good night’s sleep. 

Jess from New Girl has the right idea.

Leave a Reply

