Literature Love and libraries with a side of crazy

noun, plural li·brar·ies.

1.a place set apart to contain books, periodicals, and other material for reading, viewing, listening, study, or reference, as a room, set of rooms, or building where books may be read or borrowed.
2.a public body organizing and maintaining such an establishment.
3.a collection of manuscripts, publications, and other materials for reading, viewing, listening, study, or reference.
4.a collection of any materials for study and enjoyment, as films, musical recordings, or maps.
I’ve always been a big fan of libraries, whether they are big or small, I’ll find something to love about it. I’m even working on creating my own one day in my house. Granted that’s kind of far off but the intent to follow through with it is definitely there. But I digress.
My university is lacking something in it’s library, and that my friend’s is fiction. Our fiction section is made up of three to four small “book trees” containing contemporary novels and if it’s classic literature you’re looking for, well that’s spread throughout the stacks on the second level. I don’t mind searching for a good book as much as the next person, and I don’t know if my school’s library system is just set up to make weirdos like me complain about not having literature by more literature, or what. But I’m here and I’m doing it. So, sorry.
I do realize that my school could like not have a library and that that would suck, and that I should be grateful for what we do have, and I am grateful. I just want to know the logic in it all I guess. Why not just move all of the shelves that the classics etc. are on downstairs and take a shelf of journals upstairs to be amongst the rest of them. (How crazy do I sound right now, honestly?)
I partially blame my denial of the end of the semester happening and how much I don’t want to go home yet for this and also the fact that I’m stressed out.
End rant.
Leave a Reply

