Fearless City Living

citylife

All my life I’ve dreamed of getting my degree and living in some fabulous city and having this fantastic life and meeting new people and becoming a “lady that lunches”. I blame my torrid love affair with the show Sex and the City, but now things are starting to change.

In a fit of mild desperation the other day I tweeted about how much I really wanted to attend a Blogger meetup, preferably local because I’ve never been to one and all of the ones that I do want to go to are either no longer doing it or are way too expensive for me. A fellow blogger/tweeter @heysuburban directed me towards a blogger meetup in my community, and thank goodness for the World Wide Web, because now that I have had time to do my research and check out some of the local bloggers websites my decision to hurry up and move to a big fabulous city post graduation is starting to wane.

I’ve always dreamed of living in a big, beautiful, energetic city, but I was never really aware of the crazy/beautiful things that are actually in the city that I was born and raised in, This could probably be because I’ve always lived in the burbs and never got the lady balls to drive down and around the city by myself too often. That requires a wild hair or a willing person to take the driver’s seat instead (because yes, I am scared of aggressive drivers). This could just be because I have had *wonderful* luck with vehicles in the past and I am pretty much convinced that I need to live in a city with city-wide transportation or have a life long prescription to ant-anxiety medicine. Either way, my decision to stay in Kansas City will ultimately be decided on the fact that I want to go into Public Relations in the Publishing Industry and  the Kansas City area isn’t exactly hopping in that department.

So, at the very least I’ll settle for landing amongst the stars while aiming for the moon in my future job hunting.

So far, my tentative list of future cities to live in and hopefully having a flourishing career in the Publishing industry are;

-Chicago

-New York City (this is an obvious one)

-San Francisco

&

-Omaha (this surprised me too)

I intend to keep doing further research and striving to get to where I want to be in life and be happy while there.

 

Leave a Reply

