In the Pursuit of Being a Less Ignorant American

My school plays host to a myriad of International students and yesterday my school put on an International Fair to have them showcase their diverse cultures to the other students. Since my curiousity is something that will never be fully satisfied I decided to go and check it out and to also see some of my friend’s at the same time. I’m so glad I went too.

ImageAs you go to each country’s booth you’re supposed to ask questions that you may have about the country and/or the culture. I tried to do that, I really did, but my insecurites shined bright like a diamond every time I came to a new country because I didn’t want to ask any stupid questions or look even more foolish and ignorant about cultures than I already felt.

Earlier in the  semester I was presented with the opportunity to go on a study abroad trip with the Journalism majors and my fellow Comminicaton/PR majors to Italy, Malta, London and Greece.

Screen Shot 2013-11-20 at 12.16.11 PM

The other day I called my uncle, who handles my inheritance money, and presented the idea to him.  He automatically started to get excited for me and told me that I should take this opportunity because once I graduate my chances of ever getting to do something like this are slim.  

Today I have a meeting with financial aid to see if I can even afford the trip without throwing a lot of my own money into it and I gotta say I’m a little nervous about it because financial aid is the worst and I have so much to do if I do decide to go that I just want to throw myself on the ground and forget about it all.

As you can see by my tweets my wanderlust is starting to get a little out of hand & it’s only getting worse by the day. Mainly because of my correspondence with my friend from Germany that used to go to my school and is now living back in Germany and having so many wonderful adventures. I want that. I want to drink espresso in a cafe in a foreign city, eat my weight in authentic Italian food, and seek out the best little bookshops in London. I need more adventure in my life. Being stuck in the midwest for almost 25 years is making me crazy.

Should I do it?

4 thoughts on “In the Pursuit of Being a Less Ignorant American

  1. I didn’t do study abroad while I was at school, but I have gone abroad, once after I graduated high school and again a year after I graduated college/last summer. Since I didn’t have a job in high school, spending the entire summer in Armenia wasn’t as big deal as it would have been had I had a job or gone after college. First, spending the whole summer in Armenia (or abroad) was amazing, and well worth every second of it.

    Last summer, I went to Jerusalem for 10 days and the reason it was difficult was because I had a limited number of vacation days at my job, plus, since I worked at a bank, I had to make sure I had someone to cover my shifts during that time. So your uncle is right–changes of doing it after graduation are slim and difficult.

    In terms of filling out financial aid, they make it mind-numbing to weed out the people who probably want to take advantage of studying abroad and partying (granted, there will always be partying abroad. It’s a fact of life), but don’t let that slow you down. If you can do it, go for it while you can. 🙂

  2. Do it, leaving your home country is one of the most terrifying but also one of the most rewarding things you’ll ever do.

    I moved to New York from England just three months ago and it was one of the best decisions I ever made. Travelling and seeing different cultures really does expand the way you think and just gives you a better outlook on your own life.

    You can use this experience to your advantage, write about everything you do and see and include all the small details, that’s what people want to hear. Everyone goes to London and sees Big Ben, everyone goes to New York and visits Times Square. Do something original and people will want to hear about it.

    Have fun because you are only young once and if you don’t do it, then I can guarantee that you will regret for the rest of your life.

    I look forward to reading about it!!!

  3. You should do it, I think it is so worth it going out the shell. I was not able to study abroad, but am traveling now for work and I ask myself why I didn’t do it before. It is hard and you do have to work a lot but the experience is worth it 🙂

  4. Pingback: “Dare to expand your horizons.” | The Assorted Thoughts of a Scatterbrain

Leave a Reply

