Giving Credit Where Credit is Due (or Finding Inspiration in the Financial Aid Office)

Earlier this week I had a meeting with the dreaded financial aid office with my uncle in tow to talk to the head of the department about  my current financial situation.

Screen Shot 2014-01-25 at 11.35.27 PM

 

Like any normal person I entered the office a little bit on edge because the financial aid office is scary no matter what school you go to, right? As my uncle and I walked into the office of the head of the department the tension started to slowly lift from our shoulders. We discussed everything about how the financial aid and student loans work to my uncle because he has never really had to do something like this before.

Since I was in the office I took a small chance and asked the lady that we were meeting with if I could get a copy of my transcripts because I needed them for another meeting that I had that day. Since she’s a school administrator she had full privelege to them and she pointed out that I had a 3,0 GPA after my first semester of going to school here. As she silemtly read my transcript to herself she began to ask me why it took me so long to come back to school. My answer was basically because I had gone through so much in the four years that I had been out of

high school and that I had finally decided what to do with my life, to a point.  I then preceeded to tell her that I had gone through in those four years including breaking my back, getting diagnosed with cancer, and then my dad being diagnosed with cancer too and then shortly passing away from it.

She looked at me like I had told her that I was actually an alien. After the shock wore off she told me something that immediately added a thick layer of icing to this surprisingly sweet and painless meeting. She to

ld me that I needed to stop being so damn hard on myself for all of the things that I do and to take more credit in life for the things that I have done, like beating cancer and finding the gumption to get myself back into school and setting attainable goals for myself.  My uncle, being the ever-so-caring and loving man that he is immediately agreed with her and began to count off all of the things that have tried to take me down in my lifetime and failed and made my emotions soar even more.  Througout the entirety of that week I basically soared on the high of the words from the angel in the financial aid office and from my caring and loving uncle that always has my back and will cheer me on when others are too busy to.

So, I guess the moral of this long-winded story is that no matter what you’ve been through in life remember to give yourself credit for all that you’ve been through and what you will continue to go through in your life. You will do great things because you are capable of them and make your support system as big as you can get it!

 

One thought on “Giving Credit Where Credit is Due (or Finding Inspiration in the Financial Aid Office)

Leave a Reply

