A love letter to Chicago.

Dear Chicago,

Image

In the four short days that I’ve been here you’ve made quite the impression on me. So much so that I shudder at the thought of returning home, though I know that’s what I have to do.

Ever since I’ve been here I’ve felt like a completely different person. I mean, my anxiety is still hanging above me a little bit, but it’s no longer the foreboding dark cloud that it normally tends to be when I’m home. It’s turned from being fearful of being alone to not being able to get back to my friend’s apartment and navigating the trains. Those pale in comparison to the anxiety that felt like it was literally melting off of me on the train here.

Though it’s a little early for me to say this with confidence I’m pretty sure that traveling (especially solo) is doing wonders for my mind, body and soul.

Since I’ve been here I’ve done more walking than I have in a long time. Which is sad, since I walk around my school’s campus and to work everyday but I think the air is cleaner and brisker here so it fills my lungs and happiness is left in it’s place. Not only that, but my legs are gaining their definition and tone back, which is always a good thing. I’ve also never slept harder. My body is too tired from traversing the city for my insomnia to even have a chance at creeping up and making my night sleepless.

Also, since I’ve been here I’ve written more in my journal than I usually did while at school. Probably because my entries at school were uber-depressing and I was lonely and bored. However, if you read my entries from the past two months up until now you would think that they were written by two different authors. Thank you for that, Chicago. I am forever in your debt.

One final thing that I’ve fallen in love with in this city so far is how genuinely nice the people are here. Sure there are some jerks, but those are everywhere. I just have yet to encounter any so far in my trip and I hope that trend continues for the remainder of my stay here.

Also, in exactly two months I leave on my first airplane ride to Europe to present research in Athens, Greece. Hopefully that trip does just as much for me mentally and physically as this one is doing. Something inside me says that it will be just fine and that I’m continuing to over think things a little bit.

With a mere three and a half days left here I intend to suck the marrow out of this experience and just let anything that’s bothering me about, well anything, go into the infamous winds of Chicago.

P.S.  My desire to move here one day has won out over my hometown of Kansas City and the wonderful agency of DEG Digital. Sorry Kansas City.

P.P. S. Only two and half more years or so and I shall return with a one-way ticket instead of a round-trip ticket.

Love always,

Nicole

One thought on “A love letter to Chicago.

  1. Aww! I’m so glad you enjoyed and are enjoying Chicago! I’m glad to call this city (ok, the burbs) my home, and hope that a year and a half hours by quickly for you so you may do the same. 🙂

Leave a Reply

