Losing Touch

In this low context, polychronic day and age the loss of connection is basically the worst thing that can happen to a person. Especially, if that connection is a wifi connection. But when it’s a loss of person-to-person, human connection we all seem to be slightly more okay with it.                                                                                             

ImageWhy do we do this to ourselves? We’re social animals with a strong desire for connection but now it all seems to come from the internet and other forms of social media. Don’t get me wrong, I get a twinge of satisfaction and connection when someone likes a post on my Twitter, Facebook, Instagram or even here on my blog, but something’s missing. It has been for sometime now, I think.

The other day in my Nonverbal Communication we started to discuss the idea of Haptics, which is any form of nonverbal communication involving touch and that’s when it hit me. I’m sorely lacking it. I feel like if my life were being tracked on Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs that I’d always be ping ponging between the bottom two, if not the entire thing.

Now, I do realize that being alone and getting to know yourself is an integral part of growing up, and I do make efforts to get out, but being alone and being lonely are two distinctly different things that both need to be handled in their own ways. But it doesn’t make them suck any less.

I just need a good platonic hand hold or a cuddle puddle with friends that lasts all night or something. I’ve gotten way too comfortable in my solitude over the past year and a half or so and I’m not entirely sure how to feel about it either, besides confused and ready for a change.

So what’s a girl gotta do around here to be held for awhile?

You can be lonely even when you are loved by many people, since you are still not anybody’s one and only.
Anne FrankThe Diary of a Young Girl

Leave a Reply

